Counterpoise and RF Grounding a mobile antenna

Nashua Area Radio Society Topics In All Forums Elmering Forum Counterpoise and RF Grounding a mobile antenna

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Tom Mahon 3 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author

Jay Cohen
    Participant

Hello all!

I’m a very new member to the club, and just was licensed in December so I’m a newbie all around.  As part of my first station, I purchased a Yeasu 857D in addition to a Yeasu ATAS120A mobile antenna mounted on a tripod, connected to a duplexer to allow both HF and UHF/VHF connections to the multi-band antenna at the same time.  The idea is to have a somewhat portable station I can take with me to Boy Scout camping weekends. I also have 75 feet of coax to connect things together.

I’m having a bear of a time though getting the system to tune on anything HF.  I’ve contacted the retailer for advice, as well as Yeasu, and both are suggesting I need a counterpoise. Here’s where the confusion sets in.

I have read that the correct length for a counterpoise would be 25% of the wavelength of the lowest frequency to be used, in effect to ‘mirror’ the 1/4 wave antenna on the tripod to create the other half of the antenna.  If I do that math ( 300 / 7.125 (for 40M) = 135.8 and divided by 4 again I get 33 or so feet.)  So, in my mind, this means four 33 foot counterpoises attached to antenna ground at the base of the tripod mount.

However, when I talked to Yeasu, their engineer suggested 4 16′ counterpoises.  Which translates to 1/8 a wavelength or so.  Unless I’m misunderstanding something along the line here.

Can anyone shed some light on the numbers for me?

Many thanks!

Jay

KU1DU

Jay, KU1DU

Fred Kemmerer
    Fred Kemmerer
    Keymaster

Hi Jay,

FB on the portable HF setup you are building for demos with the Scouts!