CW Question

This topic contains 8 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by Fred Kemmerer Fred Kemmerer 2 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Jamey Finchum
    Jamey Finchum
    Participant

I am slowing learning CW and I have a question about making QSO’s. I am using G4FON and LCWO.com and am learning to send and receive at 20 wpm, but with a lot of space between characters. If I set my transmit to 20 wpm and try to make a QSO will people realize I am a “rookie” and send slower? I’m actually doing okay recognizing characters at 20 wpm if I have some time between the characters. If I ask someone to QRS to match my speed will they increase the spacing or slow down the characters?

Jamey (AC1DC)

Fred Kemmerer
    Fred Kemmerer
    Keymaster

Great questions Jamey. Others who are more experienced with CW than I may be able to answer your questions better. As a beginner, I would try to work near the top end of the CW sub-bands. This is where the folks who are learning CW tend to hang out. If you send at 20 wpm and space you letters out, I think you might get a similar response from folks who answer you. The 20 wpm rate may be too fast for other beginners even with the added spacing. If that happens, I’d suggest trying sending at 12 wpm and spacing things out as this is probably more likely to be a speed that other beginners can handle. You’ll definitely want to send “QRS” if someone comes back to you too slowly. Once you have a QSO going, you can explain to the other OP how you are learning and they will probably match your speed and spacing if they can.

- Fred (AB1OC)
    President, Nashua Area Radio Society

ab1oc@arrl.net
    Visit us on the web at - https://www.n1fd.org

Mike Ryan
    Mike Ryan
    Participant